Date: Fri, 9 Oct 2009 12:48:56 -0400
Sender: Vanagon Mailing List <email@example.com>
From: Dave Mcneely <mcneely4@COX.NET>
Subject: Re: VW Campground Reviews
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=UTF-8; format=flowed; delsp=no
Sorry about the links I posted. The www is not needed.
You're right, Loren, that the rules do say that "passengers" will be
admitted. But, at some parks, I have been charged for passengers over
four total including driver. That's why Bonnie and I both have passes.
The great thing about some NPs is that NO entrance fee is charged.
Still think that portable houses (RVs, Motor Homes, whatever folks
choose to call them) should have to pay anyway, or even better, they
should not be allowed, as resource hogs. At least like in Crater Lake,
ban them from camping in the park. David McNeely
On Fri, Oct 9, 2009 at 11:25 AM, Loren Busch wrote:
> RE: Park Pass Rules
> A previously posted link isn't working. Try here for the rules
> Senior Passes
> Note that the limit of four in a vehicle is NOT absolute. At parks
> charge a per-vehicle fee you could have half your home town in the rig
> all would get in.
> The problem in Washington State is that the 'rule' is not a rule, it's
> written into the State laws, the RCW (Revised Code of Washington).
> After a
> WetWesties gathering here in Washington a few years ago, where this
> became an issue when there was a limited number of camping sites open,
> several WetWesties got in contact with the State Parks and in fact had
> very frank and sympathetic email discussion on the subject with the
> staff at
> the State level. They agreed that it made no sense that small
> like our Westfalias could not double up but their hands were tied.
> problem at that time (and still as far as I know) was that when you
> into a campground, found an open site, parked and went to register,
> posted rules in the campground said simply "Second vehicle $5" and
> indicated that the second vehicle could not have built in sleeping
> accommodations. So you pull into a campground, register in compliance
> the posted rules, and then later are told by the host or the Ranger
> that the
> second vehicle is not allowed. And the same situation exists in many
> of the
> State campgrounds in Oregon, though not in all. As I pointed out in a
> previous post this is not a problem in Federal campgrounds and many of
> don't even have a fee for the second vehicle. I actually had the
> vehicle fee handed back to me by a park ranger one time even though a
> vehicle fee was posted at the registration kiosk. And on a recent
> trip, my
> traveling companion driving a 23 foot RV and me in my Westy, we parked
> double in several Federal campgrounds without any additional fees. In
> case, where the camping fee was $12 per site, we ended up paying $3
> because we both had Senior Passes.